The perfect book companion!

img_9403 I don’t know about you, but after a long day say at university, all I want to do is get in my pyjamas, lie in bed and read a good book. However, it’s never as simple as that. I ALWAYS have to have some things with me when I’m reading a book in order to feel 100% comfortable.

Before I go into what I find is the perfect book companion, I’m going to include some answers from my followers on Instagram. I asked them what they need to have with them when they’re reading a book in order to get comfortable, and so many of you answered so thank you for that! This is what my followers feel they need when reading a book:

  • Cup of tea
  • Cookies and milk
  • A blanket and water
  • Quiet room and my duvet
  • Soundtracks on in the background
  • My dog so I can read to them
  • Blanket and herbal tea
  • Blanket, tea and a snack
  • Rain outside
  • A hot bubble bath and a cold pepsi
  • My bed and a cushion to cuddle
  • A cup of mint tea and my dog on my lap
  • My cat and a plate of oreos

Are you the same? Is there anything on the list you agree with? Anything you disagree with?

For me, there are only a couple of things I like to have with me when I’m reading a book that I would class as the perfect book companion. The first is a candle. You’re probably thinking, fire around a book? Seriously? But I’m sensible enough to burn a candle a safe enough distance from my books!!

I absolutely love burning candles, but not just any candles. For me, nothing beats Yankee Candles. The scents from them are so soothing and relaxing that they make the perfect book companion. In my opinion, there’s nothing better than burning scents such as Vanilla Cupcake whilst throwing yourself into a really good book. It’s also great for a bit of light if you don’t want to have your main light on so has a dual purpose!

I too, like so many of my followers, love to have a blanket with me when I’m reading a book. Last year for Christmas, my mum got me a ‘slanket.’ For anyone that doesn’t know, this is a blanket that has holes for your arms to go in so that you can hold things still, and an inside pocket for your feet and it is the best thing ever! So when I’m reading, I love to have that with me so that I’m comfortable.

The last thing, like with anything, you will always need a snack and a cup of tea with you. Of course this varies with everyone, but I love to have a snack and a drink with me when I’m reading…

Of course, to have the perfect book companion, you have to have a good book to read!! What books are you guys currently reading? I’d love to know so please don’t hesitate to comment and recommend some books!! I’m currently reading Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets as part of Pottermore’s Wizarding World Bookclub and most recently,“A Million Times Goodnight” by Kristina McBride which was kindly gifted by SkyHorsePublishing! A full review will be coming *hopefully* next week when/if I finish it! So keep an eye out for then!

 

 

2 comments

  1. I am currently reading Philosophers stone but I have almost finished it!😊 Thank you Shauna for including my ‘book companion’❤☺xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

