London Film & Comic Con!

As many of you know, this past weekend I went to London Film & Comic Con! For those of you who don’t know what this is, it’s a 3 day event which “promises to bring you some of your favourite stars from TV, Film and Comics as well as a whole host of fun activities including photo shoots, panels, autograph sessions and hundreds of stalls full of TV and Film memorabilia to browse.”

These events are incredibly fun for fans of pretty much anything and everything, when there you can cosplay your favourite characters (which is probably the best aspect), meet your favourite tv/film/comic stars or just have a look around at all of the incredible merchandise stalls!

The event ran from 28th-30th July this year, and I attended on the 29th and 30th! This was my first ever comic con, so I chose not to cosplay, but I got to meet some incredible stars that I have wanted to meet for a very long time!

Saturday

Before I officially met anyone on Saturday, I walked past the autograph tables and caught glimpse of Danielle Tabor who played Angelina Johnson in the first three Harry Potter films! Because I didn’t have a photo op planned with her, we decided to take a selfie and position it in a way that you could see her behind us! I also got to talk to her in the toilets a bit later on (which is the last place I’d expect to meet anyone!)

I was also lucky enough to meet four more of my favourites throughout the day! The first person that I had paid for a photo with was Zoe Wanamaker, who of course plays Madam Hooch in the Harry Potter films. Unfortunately the photo ops at these events are super rushed so all I got to say to her was “you’re amazing” with which she replied “that’s very lovely, thank you!” I had my picture taken, said thank you and that was that. Very quick but still AMAZING!

IMG_9030

The second person that I got to meet, and probably the highlight of the whole weekend was Dan Fogler who plays Jacob Kowalski in Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them! He attended the event as a comic guest through Heavy Metal and it was decided that because of his schedule, Dan would only be able to meet 250 people throughout the day. In order to meet him, you had to buy something from the table and you were given a ticket.

At around 1pm Saturday afternoon, I was called up to go and meet him and I have never been so nervous! I asked Dan to sign my Hogwarts notebook which I have autographs in and my Jacob funko pop box. I then proceeded to tell him that he follows me on Twitter and that I’m the girl that DMs him often (he replies so he knows who I am), and once I told him that he laughed and said “how you doing?” It was absolutely incredible to meet him, if any of you don’t know earlier on in the year he answered some questions for a blog post so it was great to actually meet him in person and be able to thank him!

About an hour later, I then got to meet James & Oliver Phelps who are of course the Weasley twins in the Harry Potter films! Again, this photo op was incredibly rushed and the only thing I was able to say to them was about the kind of pose I wanted. As I’m ginger and look like I should be part of the family, I wanted it to look like a Weasley family photo and when I asked them they said “we should be able to do something similar” and I am incredibly happy with the result! What also topped this was the fact that James tweeted me later on that evening after meeting him!

The last person that had paid to meet on the Saturday was Sean Biggerstaff, who plays Gryffindor Quidditch captain Oliver Wood in the films! I got a tiny bit longer with Sean than the others because the photographer was too busy talking, so Sean was able to ask how I was doing rather than a quick and simple hi and bye!

IMG_9029

All in all, Saturday was an absolutely incredible day and I feel so lucky to have met all of these stars!

Sunday

Sunday was a much quieter day in terms of meeting people, but it was still just as fantastic! The first person that I paid to meet on Sunday was Mark Williams, who is Arthur Weasley in the films! My photo op with him is probably my favourite out of all of them from the weekend. As many of you know, one of Arthur’s famous quotes in the film is “What exactly is the function of a rubber duck?” and because of this, I thought it might be funny to bring a rubber duck in for our picture and he was more than happy to hold it!

IMG_8944

Another highlight of the weekend was meeting Christopher Lloyd. I know him from several films such as Back to the Future, The Addams Family, Who Framed Roger Rabit, Dennis the Menace and so much more but my absolute favourite is BTTF so I was super excited when I found out you could have a picture with him AND the Delorean! Again, it was super rushed but I had chance to say how amazing he is and I can’t explain how it felt to meet such an incredible actor like him!

IMG_8989

All in all, I had the most incredible weekend and I cannot thank Showmasters enough for making events like these possible. The memories from this weekend will be with me forever and I can’t put into words how grateful I am that I got to meet so many of my favourites, if any of you have ever thought about going to LFCC but haven’t, I’d recommend that you do! This was my first time going but I’ll definitely be going again next year!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 comments

    • If you had actually read the blog post you’d notice that I state things such as “the first person I had paid for a photo with” or “in order to meet him you had to buy something at the table”
      It is clearly stated that I paid for these photos and nine times out of ten it is common sense that you have to pay to meet these people and 99% of my followers and readers know this. They don’t feel the need to comment unnecessary things like you have.

      Like

  1. Hi, I’m not sure whether you will be able to answer this but I am thinking about going to LFCC next year…

    So I know that LFCC and YALC (YA Lit Con) are somewhat joined together. But I was wondering if you had access to YALC or whether it was separate tickets?

    It sounded so great and it is amazing to see that you got to meet some Harry Potter and acting legends.

    Like

Leave a Reply

