THREE favourite mini books from Harry Potter!

There are now only three days left until the 20th anniversary of Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone – where has this week gone? Today, I thought I’d discuss the three mini books that can be found within the Wizarding World that are available to buy – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, The Tales of Beedle the Bard & Quidditch Through the Ages!


I absolutely ADORE these books! They are a great addition to have alongside the series, and it’s great to read the books that are used within the Wizarding World – for example, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is required as a school textbook and Hermione is given Tales of Beedle the Bard in Dumbledore’s Will!

  1. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

I absolutely love my copy of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Bloomsbury have recently updated the version of this book, so I do not have that copy. What I have instead is the copy before that, which I got at the Harry Potter studio tour in London in 2013! This copy is excellent because it has hand written notes/drawings on various pages that were done by people such as Harry, Ron and Hermione! This gives it a really personal but comical feel, and it always makes me smile reading it!

This book covers all of the beasts in the Wizarding World, going through it in an alphabetical order and even rating them based on their Ministry of Magic classification, X being least dangerous and XXXXX being extremely dangerous! Unfortunately, my copy of the book is now out of date because the most up-to-date version has SIX new beasts in it which is exciting! Nonetheless, I love it and it’s something I would definitely recommend buying!



2. The Tales of Beedle the Bard.

Out of the three books I have, The Tales of Beedle the Bard is definitely my favourite for two different reasons! The first reason is that I absolutely love the stories that are in them, I have read this book countless times because they are that great. Of course, like a lot of people, my favourite story in this book is the Tale of the Three Brothers which Hermione reads out in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows! This book is a great addition if you have finished the Potter books but still want more, as the five mini stories in it are just as fab!

The second reason why this book is one of my favourites is because I am extremely lucky enough to have an exact replica of the book that you see in the film! An artist called alarmeighteen makes these and the detail that goes into them is unreal and it really is a must have for any Potter fan!


3. Quidditch Through the Ages.

Just like the previous two books, this book is also a fantastic addition to the series! It is written by ‘Kennilworthy Wisp’ who is seen as an expert within the Quidditch world!

This book discusses the history of Quidditch, with the first chapter discussing ‘The Evolution of the Flying Broomstick.’ I found this book really interesting to get more of an in-depth knowledge of Quidditch and everything associated to it so I would 100% recommend reading/buying it if you wanted to know more about Quidditch!


Have you read any of these three books? Which one is your favourite and why? Do you have the old or new versions? As always, I’d love to know your thoughts so leave a like and comment and check out the link below for my previous post! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

