SEVEN favourite Harry Potter experiences!

In exactly one week, it will finally be the 20th anniversary of Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone! To commemorate this, I’ve decided to do a countdown to the day with blog posts.

Throughout the years, I’ve been extremely fortunate with my experiences within J.K Rowling’s magical world! Whilst it was incredibly difficult to choose, to begin the countdown I thought I’d write about my top SEVEN experiences related to Harry Potter. I will continue with this style of posts throughout the weeks, writing about different HP elements that correspond with the number of days there are left until the anniversary! I’m super excited for this countdown and I really hope you guys are too!

1. Seeing J.K Rowling in the flesh!

On November 15th 2016 my dreams came true and I got to see the woman who has completely changed my life with a boy called Harry Potter. I went to the premiere of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and was incredibly lucky to be positioned directly in front of one of the two stages on the ‘blue carpet.’ The one I was in front of was directly outside of the Odeon Cinema, what I didn’t know when I got there was that a few hours later J.K Rowling would be about 6ft away from me!

2. Meeting Daniel Radcliffe!

On May 6th this year, I was incredibly lucky to go and see ‘Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead’ which starred the wonderful Daniel Radcliffe, and once it was finished he was lovely enough to stay behind and meet fans – even though the queue was massive because it was the last night of the show! Nonetheless, I was very lucky to be one of the many to meet him and words cannot describe how lovely he is. I know he’s starred in several incredible movies but to me he will always be Harry Potter so to meet him was an absolute honour and a memory that I will hold with me forever. He was so humble and down to earth and I feel so incredibly grateful to have been given this opportunity!

3. Being invited to an exclusive preview of the Forbidden Forest at the Harry Potter studios in London!

As many of you know, I have been to the studio tour a fair few times… As of 2016, my number was at seven. And then, at the Celebration of Harry Potter at the Universal Studios in Orlando, it was announced that they would be getting a new expansion at the studios and that this would be the Forbidden Forest. This was really exciting for me but what added to this excitement was the fact that I was invited by the studios themselves to an exclusive preview of the expansion, and I got to see it a week before it officially opened to the public! I absolutely adore the studios and aim to go there at least once per year, but to be invited to such a magical event will always be an amazing memory for me and I’m so grateful that I was invited!

As well as being invited to this incredible event, my other favourite memory from the studios is when I went for the very first time in August 2012 because although they’ve added lots more, nothing is more magical than the first time you see all of the props and costumes!

4. My first visit to Harry Potter and the Cursed Child!

August 10th 2016, the day I got to see Harry Potter and the Cursed Child for the very first time! My mum had got me the tickets as a birthday present, and I was going to be sat in A12 Dress Circle which after now having gone three more times, I can confirm is the best seat I’ve been in! I hadn’t read the script before I went so I had no idea what to expect but either way, it was completely magical and I loved every moment of it. The cast were obviously incredible and the play was spectacular – there was not one thing that I could fault. As amazing as the play was, this wasn’t the only thing that made this the best day ever. Just before part 2 of the play was starting, everyone in the stalls started screaming and when I leant over to see what the big deal was I noticed that Rupert Grint, yes Ron Weasley, was stood there getting ready to go to his seat! I couldn’t believe that I was in the same room as him, and I certainly won’t forget him waving up to us, it was just amazing!

5. Being noticed by Tom Felton on Instagram!

As many of you know I completely adore Tom Felton, and on March 15th 2017 he liked two of my comments on Instagram! This was incredible for me because Instagram is really the only platform that he uses and it’s quite difficult to get noticed by him, so for him to like two of my comments was a great achievement for me!

6. Harry Potter film location tour in London!

In September last year, me and my sister decided to go on one of the Harry Potter film location tours in London. This is where you are guided around to different spots in London that were used during filming as well as buildings/streets that inspired certain aspects in the films. This was a great experience for me and an overall great day out, and it was certainly one of the highlights to my year last year!

7. Making my Harry Potter Instagram account!

On May 30th 2015 I decided that I’d make a Harry Potter fan account on Instagram, I just wanted a social media platform to express my love of the series on and never thought that two years down the line I’d have 60,000 incredible people following me on that account! Through it I have made the most incredible friends and been given such amazing stuff from the nicest of people and I couldn’t be happier. As cheesy as it sounds, they are like my little online family and I couldn’t be more grateful for the people that have helped my account grow over these past two years. I’m definitely excited to see where the future will take me and that account!

I have so many fond memories and experiences within the HP world and that is only going to grow, especially with what I have planned throughout the rest of this year that I can’t wait for! 

I hope you enjoyed this post, I’ll be doing this style for the rest of the week which I’m super excited about and I hope you guys will like it! As always, it’d be great if you could like this post and maybe give it a comment! What are your favourite experiences and memories within the Wizarding World? Have you got anything planned for this year or have you already attended an event? 

 

2 comments

  1. I loved this post! Reading about all your amazing magical experiences was great, and although I probably won’t be as lucky, I’m glad I get to experience them through your blog and Instagram! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

