PS 20th anniversary | Ways to celebrate!

As many of you know, June 26th marks the 20th anniversary of Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone! Many people have been asking me what they can do to celebrate this, so I thought I’d address this in a blog post with things that I’ll be doing to possibly give you ideas! There have already been some events etc this year to mark that, and there will also be some later on in the year, so they will be addressed too!

1. Take part in a Harry Potter re-read.

There has already been a Harry Potter re-read going on this year, which can be found under the # HPReadathon2017 on various social medias, they’re currently on Goblet of Fire.

Also starting this month (although I began the first weekend of this month because I’m impatient) is Pottermore’s Wizarding World Bookclub!

2. Have a Harry Potter film marathon.

What’s better than watching every single Harry Potter movie back to back? Make sure you have lots of food and drink ready, it’s going to be long…

3. Attend a Harry Potter event – usually at bookstores such as Waterstones.

There are only a couple of events happening that I know of, but I highly doubt these are the only two events so please make sure to check your local bookshops etc to see if there are any going on where you live!

On June 25th, the day before the official day of the anniversary, there is an event at St Pierre Hotel in Chepstow, which is only £3 per ticket! I am going to this event and I’m super excited for it, not to mention they’re offering free bookmarks and door hangers to everyone that attends – freebies?! Count me in! At this event, they have lots of interactive activities to be getting on with such as the Sorting Ceremony, Quidditch and so much more!

The other event that I know of is at Waterstones Piccadilly on June 26th, also at £3! There will be many things happening during this event such as: A Philosopher’s Stone quiz, creating your own Hogwarts Ghost along with themed drinks and much more!

4. Buy the Bloomsbury 20th anniversary editions from your specific house.

I have already discussed these books in detail on a previous post which you can find here.

5. Attend ‘A History of Magic’ at the British Library.

This is an event that I am SUPER excited for but feels like it’s still ages away! From October 20th, the British Library are hosting an exhibition called ‘A History of Magic.’ This exhibition will be showing a range of ‘wizarding books, manuscripts and objects, and combine centuries-old British Library treasures with original material from Bloomsbury’s and J.K Rowling’s archives.‘ This event will be running from October 20th until February 28th 2018 – currently the tickets have only gone on sale for the October-December batch, but the later tickets will be announced before they go on sale!

Ticket prices and times vary, you can check them out here! I was very fortunate to get tickets to go the day after it opens and I can’t wait to see it, but there will definitely be a blog post about it when October finally comes around so make sure to keep an eye out for that!

The list of ways to celebrate is endless, but these are a few of the things that I will be doing which I’m super excited for! I’d love to know if you guys are doing anything to celebrate the 20th anniversary of this fantastic book, so please comment below and let me know! It’d also be great if you could give this post a like and remember you can now follow my blog via email – it’d be fantastic if you could do that!! I have a really exciting week of blog posts prepared for next week so keep an eye out for those too!

Leave a Reply

