Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – goodbye to the original cast!

This weekend marks the final performances by the original cast of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. Tomorrow, May 21st, they will wear their robes and use their wands for the final time before they pass them onto the next cast, who begin their Harry Potter journey on Wednesday May 24th!

When the play was first announced, I was super excited about it and then funnily enough went the tickets went on sale, I forgot… I know, ‘excited’ right? However, my incredible mother had got me tickets as an 18th birthday present and on August 10th 2016, I was sat in A12 of dress circle and it was one of the best days of my life. I decided not to buy the script, and tried to avoid any spoilers so that when I saw the play everything was a surprise – and it was definitely that! When I saw the play for the first time, did I know I’d see it another three times with this cast? No. But words cannot explain how grateful I am that I have had the chance to do so!

The play and this cast are absolutely incredibly, a lot of people were worried about how the characters would be brought to life but the way Jamie, Paul & Noma bring the Golden Trio to life is a thing of wonder, and honestly, I absolutely adore their portrayals of our beloved Harry, Ron & Hermione. Nevertheless, Anthony, Sam, Cherrelle, Poppy, Esther, Alex, Jeremy, Tom (both), Stuart, Sandy, Barry – the list is endless – make this play such an incredible spectacle, they really adapt to their roles making it completely their own which really does add to the magic of seeing this play.

I feel incredibly lucky based on the experiences I’ve had in and around Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. I got to see Rupert Grint the first time, I’ve had amazing interactions with the cast on Twitter and I’ve made the most incredible friends and shared so many experiences with them because of it – one of the highlights being the excitement over the incredible amount of Olivier awards that this fantastic play won!! I have so much to thank J.K Rowling, Jack Thorne, John Tiffany and the incredible cast and crew involved for, they’ve given me the most amazing memories and experiences to look back on and I could not be more grateful for that.

So, whilst I’m incredibly sad that this cast will be leaving, I am so so happy that I have seen their incredible performances more than once and I wish ALL of you the best of luck for whatever you go on to in the future!

IMG_2176

One comment

  1. Hi! I saw on your instagram that you posted a picture with all the autographs from the actors. How did you get that? Can you please explain if you went early, if there was a lot of people, and how long it took to get the autographs? Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

