Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them European Premiere, November 15th 2016…

I’m going to start this by saying that November 15th 2016 was one of the best days of my life, and I’m never going to forget it…

I had been saying to my sister for a long time that I wanted to go to the premiere of FBAWTFT, I couldn’t get the thought of it out of my head… We had booked the coach and everything ready for that day, and I had been constantly asking around about premieres because I had never been to one before so I honestly had NO IDEA on what I was supposed to do! However… a couple of days before the premiere, it was announced that you actually needed wristbands to attend and they were being handed out the day before. I have never panicked so much in life, as someone who lives a few hours away from London and having lectures all day I thought that was it, that my chance of going to the premiere had been ruined… I was wrong! My amazing best friend from sixth form had gone to university in London, and whilst I was super anxious to be so cheeky to ask, I decided I’d see if on the off-chance, she’d go to Leicester Square and get a wristband for both me and my sister. Without hesitation she said she would see what she could do, and her and her friend went and by Monday afternoon, they had our wristbands! We got there on Tuesday morning at around 10am, and headed straight to Leicester Square to wait at our designated area, and that’s when it hit me that I was going to be at the European premiere!

img_7325
Just as they were setting up for the premiere!

 

Me and my sister were waiting at our designated area when more and more people began to arrive. I still find it funny that Maia & Adriana (who I spoke about in my previous blog post) actually came up to me to ask if this was where people with pink wristbands were supposed to wait, but we didn’t actually know each other at that point! We then got talking to two girls next to us, and I soon found out that they both worked for MuggleNet! This got me extremely excited but I had to tone it down because a lot of people were around and I didn’t want to embarrass myself! They were both so incredibly lovely and thankfully I have managed to keep in contact with one of them via Twitter! It was also lovely because we all got to have a picture together which A) Really got me in the mood for this premiere B) Is one of the nicest memories to look back on from that day!

img_7326
Me (far left), my sister Chelsey next to me,  Jennifer next to her, Dee on the far right!

Not long after this, we went our separate ways and were taken into our sections bit by bit… They were going in 25s and as me and my sister were #172 & #173, we had quite a while to wait! However, we got in and we were second row of the barrier (although I managed to squeeze into first row by the time the celebs came!) But as we are blessed with having a good height, the view was excellent and we were definitely in the right spot – smack bang in front of the stage AND the entrance to the Odeon Cinema!

img_7334
My view of the ‘Blue Carpet’

We did have a fair amount of time just waiting around for everything to happen, but it was worth it! Celebs started arriving from about 5pm (I think, I can’t entirely remember!) and it was so so exciting! Unfortunately, because we were so directly in front of the stage, some of the celebs that were having interviews got to a few people before us and then veered off to the stage instead, but we still got to see them which was an amazing experience! At around 5:50pm, I looked down the blue carpet and saw that Kevin Guthrie (Mr Abernathy in the film) was making his way down meeting all of the fans! Five minutes later, he came to us and signed my book and took a picture with me – I was so overwhelmed because all of the other celebrities that had made it our way at this point had just gone straight to the stage so I was extremely nervous which meant that my picture was slightly blurred. But nevertheless, I got one and I couldn’t be happier!

img_7364
Note to self: Hold my phone with two hands to prevent shaking which results in a blurred picture!

 

Once Kevin had disappeared, there was about a 10 minute wait before I got my next picture. I was looking on Twitter when I saw that Tom Milligan (James Potter jr in Harry Potter and the Cursed Child) had tweeted that he and the rest of the cast were coming to the premiere and I genuinely couldn’t contain my excitement because I absolutely love the cast! Next thing you know, there they were! They were all walking down the blue carpet when I saw my absolute favourite out of the cast, Anthony Boyle who plays Scorpius Malfoy! When I went to see Harry Potter and the Cursed Child in August, although I met Anthony, I couldn’t take a picture because security were rushing him on so I thought this was my chance to get that picture, finally! He was getting closer and closer, and he started walking past the stage and heading for the doors to the cinema – I have genuinely never shouted someone’s name as loud as I did for Anthony! Once I got his attention, he ran over and I said ‘please can I have a picture? I never got one at CC and I was gutted!’ and he looked at me and was like ‘of course!’ so he took the picture and then said ‘I’m really sorry but I’ve gotta go!’ and he ran back over to the CC cast and proceeded into the theatre!

img_7366
This is still my favourite picture in the whole world!

Ten minutes after I finally got my picture with Anthony, the lovely Carmen Ejogo who plays Seraphina Piquery in the film was making her way down the blue carpet! She headed straight for the stage and was having an interview – it was so incredible seeing her that close! Luckily, when Carmen came down from the stage, she came over to us to sign our books and take pictures – which was even nicer given the fact that it was now raining at this point! She was so lovely and she looked incredibly beautiful and I’m so grateful that she came over to us after her interview instead of going straight inside!

What happened in the ten minutes after this, I will treasure for the rest of my life. TWO MINUTES after Carmen had gone, the person who saved my life appeared. Yes, J.K Rowling was right in front of me… I couldn’t believe that I was less than 6ft away from the one woman who changed my life, my absolute idol. I was in complete awe of her and it didn’t feel real that she was right in front of me. That’s when the emotion got to me, and I got so teary. Unfortunately, she didn’t come over to sign our books, but I didn’t mind – I got to see her in real life and I couldn’t believe it. Although I didn’t officially get a selfie with her, my lovely followers on Instagram had managed to screenshot pictures on the livestream and you can see me behind her which is good enough for me! Words cannot describe how it felt to be that close to her, you always imagine how you’d feel, what you’d do, but when it comes down to it none of that comes into practice. I was completely stunned that J.K Rowling was right in front of me and that after so many years of completely adoring Harry Potter, I was finally seeing her in the flesh, all I could do was watch her (and take the odd picture or two) but I couldn’t speak… It was the most amazing feeling in the world. What made this ten minutes even more exciting is that when J.K Rowling had been on stage for a couple of minutes, Newt Scamander himself, EDDIE REDMAYNE was making his way down to us! He was right in front of me and I was so awkward, all I could say was ‘hi!’ and he replied with ‘hi! how are you?’ and we took a picture (he took my phone) and he was genuinely the nicest guy I’ve met… he went to my sister straight after and accidentally pressed the filter option that you have on iPhone/iPod cameras and he didn’t know how to get off it so he spent a couple of minutes trying to figure it out and it was incredible!

I’ve written far more than I intended to, and used far more of my memory of pictures than I should have but it was the best night and I wanted to share it with all of you guys… I really hope you enjoyed my experience, I’d love to know what you guys thought and I’d love any comments of whether you went to this premiere or if you’ve ever been to another premiere/who you met/favourite experience!!

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

